Introduction

Both money laundering and terrorist financing are criminal offenses under the Laws of Hong Kong. According to the Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance (Cap. 405) and the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 455), a person commits the offense of money laundering if he deals with any property, including money, which he knows or has reasonable grounds to believe to be proceeds of drug trafficking / indictable offence. Under the United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance (Cap. 575), a person commits the offense of terrorist financing if he provides or collects any property knowing or with the intention that the property will be used for terrorist acts.


Money Laundering

Under section 25(1) of the Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance, Cap 405 and section 25(1) of the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance, Cap 455, Money laundering is an offence for a person who, knowing or having reasonable grounds to believe that any property which, in whole or in part, directly or indirectly represents any person’s proceeds of drug trafficking or indictable offence, deals with that property.

Maximum penalty is a HK$ 5,000,000 fine and 14-year imprisonment.

To read more about these sections of the legislation, please follow this link to the Hong Kong E-Legislation.


Terrorist Financing

Under the following provisions of UNATMO Cap.575, it is an offence if a person:

  • provides or collects property, with intention or knowing or having reasonable grounds to believe, that the property, in whole or in part be used or will be used to commit one or more terrorist acts (section 7)

  • makes property or financial services available to or for the benefit of terrorist or terrorist associate. (section 8)

Maximum penalty is a fine and 14-year imprisonment.

UNATMO Cap. 575 has been fully implemented since 1st January 2011. Under section 6 of Cap. 575 the Secretary for Security is authorized to freeze the property of terrorists or of persons connected with terroristsection It is an offence under section 14 if a person knowingly contravenes a notice under section 6(1) or contravenes a requirement under section 6(7).

To read more about these sections of the legislation, please follow this link to the explanatory notes of section 6 and section 14 of Cap. 575 or this link to the Hong Kong E-Legislation.


Requirement of Filing STR

Under section 25(A) of the Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance, Cap 405, section 25(A) of Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance, Cap 455, and section 12 of the United Nations (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance, Cap. 575 , state that when a person knows or suspects that any property is proceeds of drug trafficking or an indictable offence, or terrorist property, or was used in connection with drug trafficking, an indictable offence or terrorist act, or is intended to be used in drug trafficking, an indictable offence or terrorist act, he or she should report his or her knowledge or suspicion to an authorized officer (i.e. JFIU officers) as soon as practicable.

Failing to report is an offence which is liable to HK$ 50,000 fine and 3-month imprisonment.

To read more about these sections of the legislation, please follow this link to the Hong Kong E-Legislation.


Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance, Cap 615.

The Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance, Cap 615, which seeks to improve Hong Kong's AML / CFT regime by better alignment of the financial institutions and designated non-financial businesses and professions with prevailing international standards has come into operation since 1 April, 2012 and further amended since 1 March 2018.

To read more about these sections of the legislation, please follow this link to the Hong Kong E-Legislation.

 


Outline for Letter of No Consent Mechanism

Pursuant to section 25A(2) of the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance, Cap. 455, section 25A(2) of the Drug Trafficking (Recovery of Proceeds) Ordinance, Cap. 405 and sections 12(2) and (2A) of the United Nation (Anti-Terrorism Measures) Ordinance, Cap. 575, it shall be a defence for a person to continue dealing with property known or suspected to represent proceeds of crime or terrorist property under the respective Ordinances if disclosure is made before the dealing and the dealing is made with the consent of an authorized officer (Note: Under Cap. 405 and Cap. 455, “authorized officer means - (a) any police officer; (b) any member of the Customs and Excise Service established by section 3 of the Customs and Excise Service Ordinance (Cap. 342); and (c) any other person authorized in writing by the Secretary for Justice for the purposes of Cap. 405 and 455 respectively. Under Cap. 575, “authorized officer means - (a) a police officer;(b) a member of the Customs and Excise Service established by section 3 of the Customs and Excise Service Ordinance (Cap. 342); (c)a member of the Immigration Service established by section 3 of the Immigration Service Ordinance (Cap. 331); or (d) an officer of the Independent Commission Against Corruption established by section 3 of the Independent Commission Against Corruption Ordinance (Cap. 204).) .

Consent may be refused by an authorized officer and a “Letter of No Consent” (“LNC”) will be issued. The considerations in deciding whether to issue a LNC by the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit (“JFIU”) and actions to be taken by the police after the issue of a LNC are summarized as follows.

The Considerations in Deciding Whether to Issue a LNC

While it is difficult to set out all the circumstances in which a LNC may be issued, the underlying principle is that the issue of a LNC should be reasonable, necessary and proportionate in the circumstances of a case and each case must be decided on its own facts and merits. In deciding whether a LNC may be issued, the following may be taken into consideration:

  1. The reasonable prospect of successfully obtaining a confiscation order.  This may include:-

    • the nature and seriousness of the offence;
    • the laying of a charge and the reasonable prospect of successfully obtaining a conviction;
    • the value of the proceeds of crime; and
    • the existence of realizable property.

  2. The reasonable likelihood of obtaining a restraint order;

  3. The reasonable likelihood of a victim obtaining an injunction within a reasonable period of time;

  4. Any other consideration that may have a bearing such as when dealing with an absconder or an overseas request; and

  5. The underlying principle that persons guilty of criminal offences are denied their proceeds of crime.

The Actions to be Taken by the Police After the Issue of a LNC

  1. After a LNC has been issued, the investigating unit should make the best endeavour to obtain a restraint or confiscation order as soon as practicable or, if the property belongs to a victim(s), request the victim(s) to apply for a civil injunction in respect of the property;

  2. Each LNC issued must be reviewed every month by the Superintendent commanding the investigating unit (“SPI”) and the Formation Commander where appropriate, until such time when the SPI or the Formation Commander has decided to withdraw the operation of “No Consent”;

  3. The monthly review process is conducted through the electronic system. The SPI will determine on whether the operation of a LNC should be continued or otherwise. The SPI will cause his/her decision and the underlying reasons be properly documented and be submitted electronically to JFIU;

  4. If a LNC has already been issued over three months whilst a restraint order or a civil injunction has not been obtained, a monthly review of the investigation by the Formation Commander must be undertaken. If the continuity of a LNC is considered justifiable on the basis of necessity, proportionality and reasonableness, the Formation Commander will endorse the continued operation of the LNC electronically.  The Formation Commander should also ensure the supporting grounds are properly documented;

  5. A LNC should normally last no more than six months from the date of issue. Only where there are exceptional circumstances will a LNC continue beyond the six-month period.  Examples of the exceptional circumstances justifying a LNC to go beyond the six-month period, may include, among others, the high complexity of a case; the large scale of investigation required due to the volume of transactions involved; the cross-border element in the investigation; the large number of victims involved and the inquiries required to ascertain the stance of each of the victims as to whether he/she would take any civil action for recovery of loss; and the way in which the person under investigation responds to the enquiries made by the police.  Ultimately, it would depend upon the particular circumstances of each case.  

  6. Prior to the lapse of the six-month period, the Formation Commander should critically review the case to decide whether there are exceptional circumstances to justify it to go beyond the six-month period. If the Formation Commander is satisfied such LNC should continue beyond the six-month period, he or she should ensure the exceptional circumstances and reasoning are fully documented. The Formation Commander should also ensure the submission of the relevant case file to the Proceeds of Crime Unit of Department of Justice for examining the prospect of obtaining a restraint order. All the above-mentioned actions should be completed within the six-month period, failing which the LNC will lapse and JFIU will issue a "Consent Letter" to the reporting entities; and

  7. At any time when the circumstances do not justify the continued operation of a LNC, the head of JFIU must be notified in the first instance, who will then cease the operation of the LNC as soon as practicable.


(The Court of Appeal Judgement for Interush Ltd v Commissioner of Police CACV 230/2015; [2019] HKCA 70 at
https://legalref.judiciary.hk/lrs/common/search/search_result_detail_frame.jsp?DIS=119632&QS=%24%28Interush%7CLtd%7Cv%7CCommissioner%7Cof%7CPolice%29&TP=JU)

引言

根據香港法例,清洗黑錢及恐怖分子融資均屬刑事罪行。根據《販毒(追討得益)條例》(第405章)以及《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》(第455章)的規定,任何人如知道或有合理理由相信任何財產(包括金錢)是販毒或可公訴罪行得益而仍處理該財產,該人便干犯清洗黑錢罪行。根據《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》(第575章)的規定,任何人知道或懷有提供或籌集財產以作出恐怖主義行為的意圖,即屬犯罪。


洗黑錢活動

根據《販毒(追討得益)條例》(第405章)及《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》(第455章)第25(1)條的規定,洗黑錢是一項罪行,如有人知道或有合理理由相信任何財產全部或部分、直接或間接代表任何人的販毒或可公訴罪行得益而仍處理該財產,即屬犯罪。

最高刑罰為罰款港幣5,000,000元及監禁14年。

請登入此連結瀏覽電子版香港法例,更詳盡參考這些法例的條文


恐怖分子籌資活動

按照下列《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》(第575章) (下稱條例)的條文,如任何人作出以下行為,即屬犯罪:

  • 在懷有將該等財產全部或部分用於或將會用於作出一項或多於一項恐怖主義行為的意圖;或知道該等財產用於或將會用於作出一項或多於一項恐怖主義行為的情況下,提供或籌集財產(第7條)

  • 向恐怖分子或與恐怖分子有聯繫者的人,提供任何資金或金融服務(第8條)。

最高刑罰為罰款及監禁14年。

條例由二零一一年一月一日開始全面實施。按照條例第6條的規定,保安局局長獲授權凍結恐怖分子或與恐怖分子有聯繫者的人的財產。按照條例第14條的規定,任何人明知而違反第6(1)條所指的通知,或違反第6(7)條所指的規定,即屬犯罪。

請登入此連結瀏覽條例(第575章)第6條及第14條的註釋,或此連結瀏覽電子版香港法例,更詳盡參考這法例的條文。


提交可疑交易報告的法例規定

法例規定,任何人如知道或懷疑任何財產屬販毒或可公訴罪行的得益,或屬恐怖分子所擁有;或曾在與販毒、可公訴罪行或恐怖主義行為有關的情況下使用;或擬在與販毒、可公訴罪行或恐怖主義行為有關的情況下使用,他╱她必須盡快將其所知悉或感到懷疑的交易內容,向獲授權人員(即聯合財富情報組人員)報告。

如未有作出舉報,則屬違法,一經定罪,將被判罰款港幣50,000元及監禁三個月。


《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例(第615章)》

《打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集條例》於2012年4月1日起生效,並於2018年3月再行修訂。該條例旨在改善香港適用於金融機構及指定非金融行業的打擊洗錢及恐怖分子資金籌集制度,以進一步與現行的國際標準接軌。

請登入此連結瀏覽電子版香港法例,更詳盡參考這些法例的條文


「不予同意通知書」機制的概要

根據《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》(第455章)及《販毒(追討得益)條例》(第405章)第25A(2)條,以及《聯合國(反恐怖主義措施)條例》(第575章)第12(2)及(2A)條,如任何人在繼續處理已知或懷疑代表犯罪得益的財產或是恐怖分子的財產之前,已按有關條例披露相關財產處理事宜,並獲授權人員同意,則可作為該人的免責辯護。[註:根據第405章及第455章,「獲授權人」指─(a)任何警務人員;(b)根據《香港海關條例》(第342章)第3條設立的海關的任何成員;及(c)任何分別為施行第405章及第455章而獲律政司司長書面授權的人。根據第575章,「獲授權人」指─(a)警務人員;(b)由《香港海關條例》(第342章)第3條設立的香港海關的人員;(c)由《入境事務隊條例》(第331章)第3條設立的入境事務隊的成員;或(d)由《廉政公署條例》(第204章)第3條設立的廉政公署的人員。]

獲授權人員可拒絕給予同意,並發出「不予同意通知書」。聯合財富情報組決定是否發出「不予同意通知書」的考慮因素,以及警方在發出「不予同意通知書」後所採取的行動概述如下:

決定是否發出「不予同意通知書」的考慮因素

我們難以訂明所有可發出「不予同意通知書」的情況,但須以合理、必要及與情況相稱為基本原則,而每宗案件均須按個別案情作出決定。在決定是否發出「不予同意通知書」時,可考慮下列因素:

  1. 有否合理機會取得沒收令,包括考慮:

    • 罪行的性質及嚴重性;
    • 會否提出檢控及有否合理機會成功定罪;
    • 犯罪得益的價值;以及
    • 有否可變現資產。

  2. 取得限制令的合理可能;

  3. 受害人在一段合理時間內取得強制令的合理可能;

  4. 其他可能有關的考慮因素,例如處理涉及潛逃者以及海外要求的情況;以及

  5. 犯罪者不能從犯罪行為得益的基本原則。

警方在發出「不予同意通知書」後所採取的行動

  1. 在發出「不予同意通知書」後,調查單位應在可行範圍內盡快取得限制令或沒收令;另若有關財產屬於受害人,則應建議受害人就該財產申請民事強制令;

  2. 指揮調查單位的警司及單位指揮官,須按情況所需每月覆檢各份「不予同意通知書」,直至決定撤銷「不予同意」行動為止;

  3. 每月的覆檢工作應透過電子系統進行。負責警司決定是否繼續「不予同意通知書」行動。負責警司會妥為記錄其決定及原因,以電子方式呈交聯合財富情報組;

  4. 倘已發出「不予同意通知書」逾三個月而未能取得限制令或民事強制令,單位指揮官須每月檢討有關調查。如單位指揮官在考慮必要性、與情況相稱性及合理性的原則後,認為繼續「不予同意通知書」的理據充分,應以電子方式批核,准許繼續執行「不予同意通知書」的決定。單位指揮官應確保妥善記錄所有支持理據;

  5. 由發出當日起計,「不予同意通知書」一般不應維持超過六個月;只有在特殊的情況下,「不予同意通知書」才可維持超過六個月。支持「不予同意通知書」維持超過六個月期限的特殊情況其中包括:複雜的案件;所涉及的交易量而需要進行大規模調查;調查涉及跨境因素;涉及大量的受害人及需要進行調查以確定各受害人是否會採取任何民事訴訟以追回損失的立場;以及受查者對警方調查的回應。歸根究底,這將取決於每宗案件的特定情況而定;

  6. 在六個月期限屆滿前,單位指揮官應詳細檢討有關案件及「不予同意通知書」的考慮,決定有否特殊情況,容許其效力超過六個月。如單位指揮官信納該「不予同意通知書」應在六個月後維持有效,則務必妥為記錄有關的特殊情況及支持理據。此外,單位指揮官應確保把相關案件檔案呈交律政司的犯罪得益組,以研判取得限制令的機會。上述行動須於六個月內完成,否則「不予同意通知書」將告失效,聯合財富情報組會向有關舉報機構發出「同意書」;以及

  7. 在任何時候,如情況有變以致沒有理據維持「不予同意通知書」行動,應立即通知聯合財富情報組主管,以便在可行範圍內盡快終止「不予同意通知書」行動。



(Interush Ltd v Commissioner of Police CACV 230/2015; [2019] HKCA 70的上訴法庭判決可在以下網站瀏覽:
https://legalref.judiciary.hk/lrs/common/search/search_result_detail_frame.jsp?DIS=119632&QS=%24%28Interush%7CLtd%7Cv%7CCommissioner%7Cof%7CPolice%29&TP=JU)