Joint Financial Intelligence Unit

2014 Joint Financial Intelligence Unit Annual Report

Hong Kong Police Force

Custom and Excise Department

Welcome to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit (JFIU) web site. The web site has been designed to give people in Hong Kong, especially those in the financial services industry and the Designated Non-Financial Businesses and Professions(DNFBP) including lawyers, accountants, estate agents, trust and company service providers, and precious metal and stone dealers, a greater understanding of the laws on money laundering and terrorist financing, and the need to make reports about suspicious financial transactions.

We hope that any questions which you may have can be answered in the following pages. However, if you need any further information, please feel free to contact JFIU staff. Details of how to contact us can be found in the section Contact Us.


As a major financial center, it is very important that Hong Kong maintains an effective anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing regime to safeguard the integrity and stability of our financial system. Money laundering and terrorist financing can have devastating consequences and if we do not put in place proper countermeasures in accordance with international standards, the risk of criminals using Hong Kong for their illicit funds and illegal activities increases. Hong Kong must guard against such a situation that would adversely affect all our livelihoods.

Anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing is everyone’s responsibility. When you come across any property, which you know or suspect to be drug or crime proceeds or terrorist property, you should make a suspicious transaction report (STR) to the Joint Financial Intelligence Unit (JFIU). However, some sectors will have a greater risk of coming across crime proceeds or terrorist property than others, e.g. practitioners in our financial markets, remittance agents, money changers, money lenders, estate agents, trust and company service providers, jewelers, accountants, lawyers, etc.

Taking an indifferent attitude or turning a blind eye to a transaction you know or have reasonable grounds to believe that crime proceeds/terrorist funds are involved may result in your conviction for the above offenses.

Failing to report knowledge or suspicion of crime proceeds or terrorist property is a criminal offense. If you go on to deal with such property knowing or having reasonable grounds to believe that the property is crime proceeds, then you may have committed the offense of money laundering.

联合财富情报组

联合财富情报组年报2013

香港警务处

香港海关

欢迎浏览联合财富情报组的网页。这个网页旨在让香港市民(尤其是金融界从业员及非金融企业及行业包括:律师及会计师、信托及公司服务的提供者、地产经纪、贵金属及宝石交易商),对打击洗黑钱及恐怖分子筹资活动的法例,以及有责任举报可疑金融交易等课题,有更深入的了解。

希望本网站的内容有助解答有关疑问。如需进一步的资料,请联络联合财富情报组人员。联络方法请参阅联络我们.

引言

香港作为主要的金融中心,必须维持有效的反清洗黑钱及反恐融资制度,以保障本地金融体系完整及稳定。清洗黑钱及恐怖分子融资活动可以带来破坏性的结 果。此外,如果我们没有按照国际标准制定适当的对策,便会增加风险,让罪犯利用香港投放非法资金以及进行非法活动,严重影响港人的生活。因此,香港必须谨 防这种情况发生。

反清洗黑钱及反恐融资,是每一个人的责任。如你发现任何你知道或怀疑是毒品或犯罪得益的财产,或恐怖分子财产,便应向 联合财富情报组提交可疑交易报告。不过,某些行业在发现犯罪得益或恐怖分子财产方面,会比较其他行业面对更大的风险,例如金融市场内的从业员、汇款公司、 货币兑换商、放债人、地产代理人、信托及公司服务提供者、珠宝商、会计师、律师等等。

如果你对知道或有合理理由相信涉及犯罪得益/恐怖分子资金的交易毫不理会或视若无睹,你可能会因上述罪行而被定罪。

如未能呈报对犯罪得益或恐怖分子财产的知悉或怀疑,即属犯罪。如你知道或有合理理由相信有关财产是犯罪得益而仍然处理该等财产,则可能已干犯清洗黑钱罪行。